Practise

practise |ˈpraktɪs| (US practice)

verb [ with obj. ]

1 perform (an activity) or exercise (a skill) repeatedly or regularly in order to acquire, improve or maintain proficiency in it: I need to practise my French | [ no obj. ] : they were practising for the Olympics.

I’ve started to realise that I’m (naturally) afraid of getting hit. I usually train with bigger guys, faster guys, stronger guys. Being afraid of one of them coming at you is completely reasonable.

But not helpful. You can’t fight effectively if you blink every time someone comes at you.

So… time to practise.

My buddy and I skipped to the park for some repetition training and (very light) sparring. My main goals –

  1. practise staying in stance
  2. start to use evasion (because I suck at it)
  3. get hit but don’t let it ruin everything

Tick, tick and tick.

There were some great lessons there about being and staying in control, keeping the eyes on what counts (the gloves) and not what doesn’t (everything else).

I got a round in there where I was actually going ok. Just one though! Its a very hard sport physically and mentally.

Even just being in the right stance, starting to try and move well. So hard! Standing on the toes, crouched on slightly bent knees, always in guard, always moving but keeping stance… looking for opportunities but not giving away that you’re looking.

Hitting is the least of it.

But it is there.

